Tarvin School Governors

To contact the chair of governors, please email:

Tom Cairns – Parent Governor and Chair

Tom became a governor at Tarvin in February 2016. He has a daughter in Year 4 and a son in Year 2. Tom is a part-time Primary School PE teacher and a full-time Dad. After being Vice Chair, he became Chair of Governors in September 2017.

Kerry Parr - Vice Chair

Kerry has been the Finance Governor since January 2018. Both of her children have attended Tarvin Primary School, with her youngest now in year 6. She has a background in Corporate commercial business management, and is now a Business Manager at another primary school. 

Andrew Davies - Executive Headteacher

Andrew has been the Headteacher of Tarvin Primary School since 2010 having joined as Assistant Head and Year 6 teacher in September 2008.  He is Director of Tarvin Pre-School Nursery, Governor at Tarporley High School,  Chair of Local headteachers group (since January 2013),  Strategic board member of CLTA teaching school, and he formerly held seat on CWAPH executive committee. He has taught in three local authorities.

Lyn Jackson - Co-opted Governor

Lyn has been a governor since 2006 and was Chair of Governors from 2009 to 2017. Lyn has been the manager of the Pre-School Nursery for 16 years. She has a son and a daughter who both previously attended Tarvin School. 

Robin Grimshaw – Co-opted Governor

Governor since May 2015 with a daughter in Year 4 and a son in Year 1. Robin is a Chartered Building Surveyor.

Adam Khan - Parent Governor

Adam joined the Governing body in May 2016. He has two daughters in the school. Adam is a Deputy Headteacher.

Susan Walters - Co-opted Governor

Susan joined the governing body as an Associate Governor in 2017. Her daughters both attended Tarvin Primary School. She is currently a fulltime Education Adviser working in different authorities across England. She is also a Trustee on a multi-academy trust board. 

Susan was a Primary School Headteacher until August 2016. She has extensive leadership and management experience working in many schools and authorities as a School Improvement Adviser and a mathematics consultant. She was also a Leading Teacher in mathematics and the Early Years Foundation Stage. 

Stephanie Andrews - Staff Governor

Stephanie has been a Governor since March 2017. She started working at Tarvin in February 2015 and currently teaches one of the Reception classes.

Ruth Cadwallader - Head of School - Co-opted Staff Governor

Ruth has been at the school for 15 years. She has been an associate member of the governing body for 10 years and a co-opted staff governor since September 2019. Before teaching, she was a marketing manager at MBNA. Since joining the school, she has been a key stage leader, assistant headteacher, deputy head and has now been the Head of School since Easter 2019. She has taught across the primary school age ranges. She has two children, aged 8 and 3.

Jan Lawrence - Associate Member, School Office Manager

Jan has been at the school for 15 years. Before joining Tarvin, she worked at a primary school in Crewe, following a career in banking. She has a 29 year old son and her husband organises the Nantwich Show and International Cheese Awards.



Files to Download

background of forest

Learn and Grow

Tarvin Primary School, Heath Drive, Tarvin, Chester CH3 8LS